Awards during ASI 2023

The following awards were presented during the concluding session of the ASI 2023 meeting on 5th March 2023.

K D Abhyankar Best Thesis Presentation Award

Sonu Tabitha Paulson (IIST) - 6.7 GHz methanol masers and the early phases of massive star formation

Honorable Mention - K D Abhyankar Best Thesis Presentation Award

Yash Bhargava (IUCAA) - Spectro-timing studies of accretion disks in black hole binaries

Best Poster Awards

Stars, ISM & Galaxy

Priyankush Ghosh (NISER) Atmospheric characterization of super-Earth exoplanets in the era of JWST

Extragalactic Astronomy

Sukanya Mallik (IUCAA) – Detectability of metals in the low-z IGM

Sun and the Solar System

Jointly to:

1) Naman Joshi (IISER Bhopal) - Characterization of Systematics and Stellar Activity in the M Dwarfs’ White Light Curves

2) Puja Majee (NCRA) - First detailed polarimetric study of a type II solar radio burst with the Murchison Widefield Array

General Relativity and Cosmology

Sayantan Ghosh ( IIT Bombay) - Characterisation of Tomte Glitches in the Bayesian Framework

Instrumentation and Techniques

Jointly to:

1) Arjun Ghosh (University of Calcutta) - Passive Mode Operation of CU-ST Radar for Sun Tracking

2) Nimmi Narayanan (Sree Sankara College, Kalady) - Determination of UV Diffuse Background Radiation and verification of GALEX Deep and Medium Airglow Model

Best Poster Certificate from the Journal of Astronomy and Astrophysics ASI 2023

1) Siddhartha Bhattacharya (NCRA) – Repeating FRBs with the uGMRT (Extragalactic Astronomy)

2) Chitradeep Saha (CESSI) - Buoyancy driven active region formation in a kinematic three-dimensional solar dynamo model (Sun and the Solar System)

Honourable Mentions

Honourable Mention in Stars ism and galaxy

Namrata Rani (NISER) - Revealing the Role of Computational Chemistry in the Era of ALMA to Characterize Interstellar Medium

Honorable mention in Extragalactic Astronomy

Salmoli Ghosh (NCRA) – Understanding the FR divide by uGMRT polarization study of a HYMOR/RI/BALQSO PG1004+130

The following ASI awards (2022) were announced/presented during the Inaugural ceremony of the ASI 2023 meeting on 2nd March 2023.

The recipients of the ASI awards for the year 2022

1. ASI Govind Swarup Lifetime Achievement Award - Prof. Jayant V. Narlikar

2. Professor M. K. Vainu Bappu Gold Medal - Dr. Eve J. Lee, McGill University, Canada

3. Justice Oak Award for Outstanding Thesis in Astronomy - Dr. Barnali Das (NCRA-TIFR), Currently at Univ. of Delaware

4. Laxminarayana & Nagalaxmi Modali Award - Dr. Prateek Sharma, IISc

5. ASI Zubin Kembhavi Award - Shri Arvind Paranjpye, Nehru Planetarium-Mumbai

6. Young Astronomer Award for the Best Publication - Chirag Chawla (TIFR), Honorable Mention: Harsh Kumar (IIT-Bombay), Anshuman Borgohain (Tezpur Univ)


Hearty congratulations to all the recipients on behalf of ASI.