Who are we

Ravinder Banyal 

is a research scientist at Indian Institute of Astrophysics, Bangalore. His research areas includes photonics, astronomy instrumentation and exoplanet science. He is also interested in science outreach and public understanding of science.

Ritaban Chatterjee 

is an assistant professor at the Department of Physics, Presidency University Kolkata. His research interest is centered on the inflow and outflow around super-massive black holes. He strives to be aware of various conscious and unconscious bias against the under-represented in academia and aspires to advance this awareness among the communities he belongs to. Being a multi-wavelength astronomer and a teacher in the university, Ritaban constantly tries to tune his "wavelength" in order to communicate better with the students. He hopes the new generation to grow up with more awareness and empathy for all sorts of "otherness" in their communities.

Harvinder Kaur Jassal 

is a faculty member in Indian Institute of Science Education and Research Mohali. Her research interest is to study theoretical and observational aspects of dark energy. She has been a warden in her Institute and has been closely involved in working on issues related to female students and related to support/house keeping staff in hostels. She helped in organising the first formal gender session in ASI meeting in 2014.

Nissim Kanekar 

is an astronomer at the National Centre for Radio Astrophysics, Pune. His research interests are in galaxy formation and evolution, the interstellar medium in galaxies, and using astronomical phenomena to test fundamental physics.

Debarati Chatterjee 

is a faculty member and theoretical astrophysicist at the Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics in Pune, India. Her main interests and expertise is in developing analytical and numerical models of compact stars for better interpretation of multi-messenger astrophysical observations. She has been actively supporting the cause of gender equality in STEM disciplines as an Ambassador for Science in Normandy, France and as a member of various other international organizations.

Chairperson (2018 - current)​
Preeti Kharb 

is an astrophysicist at the National Centre for Radio Astrophysics in Pune. Her science interests revolve around outflows from "active" galaxies. She also firmly believes that the best research takes place in a gender equitable environment. She has been a member of the WGGE since its inception and is its current Chair.

Kuntal Misra 

is an astronomer at Aryabhatta Research Institute of observational sciencES (ARIES), Nainital.  Her research focuses on cosmic transients of wide variety like Supernovae,  Gamma Ray Bursts and electromagnetic counterparts of Gravitational Waves.  ​

​Prajval Shastri 

is an astrophysicist, who was a faculty at the Indian Institute of Astrophysics, Bangalore, for 23 years. Her core research interest is empirical investigations of giant black holes in the centres of distant galaxies. She believes that nurturing learning environments pave the way towards  excellence. Acutely aware of her privilege of being paid to be fascinated by the universe, she is continually amazed that the amateur astronomers often stand out as the impassioned ones. She has been engaging publicly and in academic settings with the issue of gender inequity in the astrophysics profession since 2007.