1. About the award

This award has been instituted by the society to encourage the participation of young astronomers who have completed their thesis during the past one year (within certain dates) preceding a scientific meeting of the ASI. The naming of the prize in honour of Prof. K. D. Abhyankar was decided by the General Body during the ASI meeting in 2011.

The thesis work should have been carried out at an Indian Institution and should have been formally defended in the period between 01 Aug (one year prior to year of award) and 31 July of the award year. For example, the final thesis viva should have been conducted between 01 Aug 2022 and 31 July 2023 (both dates included) for the award of the year 2023. All formalities for the award of degree must be completed at the time of thesis abstract submission. The candidates are given a set time slot to present details of their respective thesis at the scientific meeting of the ASI. The prize consists of a certificate and a cash award of Rs. 20,000/-.

2. Selection Process

A panel of judges duly appointed by the Executive Council of the Society in consultation with the scientific organising committee of that meeting shall select the best presentation. The panel of judges will communicate the result of its deliberations to the ASI council during the meeting.

A person who has received the Justice Oak award will not be considered for this award.

3. Announcement of the Award

The best thesis presentation award will be announced on the last day of the ASI meeting where the winners will receive the awards.

The K D Abhyankar Best Thesis Presentation for the respective years has been awarded to the following:

Name Year
Dr. Partha Pratim Goswami 2024
Dr. Vishal Upendran 2024
Dr. Sonu Tabitha Paulson 2023
Dr. Yash Bhargava (Honourable mention) 2023
Dr. Surajit Mondal 2022
Dr. Prasanna Deshmukh 2022
Dr. Barnali Das (Honourable mention) 2022
Dr. Archita Rai (Honourable mention) 2022
Dr. Avrajit Bandyopadhyay 2021
Dr. Anshu Kumari 2021
Dr. Avyarthana Ghosh 2020
Dr. Sudip Mandal 2020
Dr. Veena V. S. 2019
Dr. Visweshwar Ram Marthi 2018
Dr. Sajal Kumar Dhara 2017
Dr. Priyanka Chaturvedi 2017
Dr. S. Athiray 2016
Dr. S. Krishna Prasad 2015
Dr. Prashant Mohan 2015
Dr. Arunima Banerjee 2014
Dr. Vemareddy Panditi 2014
Dr. Smitha Subramanian 2013
Dr. Manju Sudhakar 2011
Dr. Piyali Chatterjee 2009
Dr. Sanjay Gosain 2009
Dr. Amrit Lal Ahuja 2007
Dr. Anand Hota 2007
Dr. P. Manoj 2005