1. About the award

The Astronomical Society of India (ASI) has instituted a fund in the memory of Professor M. K. Vainu Bappu. Prof. Bappu was an Indian Astronomer known for the discovery of Wilson-Bappu effect, was the first president of the ASI and president of the International Astronomical Union and laid the foundation of modern Astronomy and telescope facilities in India.  The award was instituted with the objectives to promote knowledge of Astronomy and Astrophysics and honour the contributions made by young scientists, normally not beyond 35 years of age, from any part of the world, in the field of astronomy and astrophysics.

As a token of appreciation of the scientist's contribution to astronomy and astrophysics, the Astronomical Society of India awards the Professor M.K. Vainu Bappu Gold Medal and a citation. The award is given at an interval of two years. Partial support for the recipient's travel to the venue of the meeting and full local hospitality during the period of the meeting will be provided by the Society.

2. Nomination Criteria

Young astronomers with exceptional achievements and promise are eligible for the award. The scientific achievements may be in any branch of astronomy, astrophysics and related fields. There are no restrictions on nationality. Work done prior to 31 December of the nomination period only will be considered.

3. Application  

All nominations for the award  must  be received by the ASI, by the deadline as indicated on the website of the ASI. The nominations may be made by Heads of Institutions, Directors of Observatories, Heads of Departments or Senior scientists.

ASI is not accepting nominations for this award in the year 2023.

Each nomination, including all the supporting documents, should be submitted online in the following format:

  1. Name of Nominee
  2. Details of Nominee
    1. Affiliation
    2. Address for correspondence
    3. Date of birth
    4. Email-address
    5. Phone number
  3. Nomination letter with signature and date
  4. Academic qualifications
  5. Major scientific achievements on which the nomination is based
  6. List of publications
  7. Links to publications relevant to the recommendation
  8. Citations of relevance
  9. Any other information pertaining to the scientific excellence of the nominee
  10. Details of proposer
    1. Name
    2. Designation and Affiliation
    3. Address for correspondence,
    4. Email id
    5. Phone number

4. Selection Process

A five member Award Selection Committee (ASC) is constituted by the ASI ensuring technical and gender representation. Each member of the ASC receives all nominations along with the supporting material. The ASC will communicate the result of its deliberations to the ASI council within three months  following the submission deadline.

5. Announcement of the Award

The successful nominee should be informed of the decision of the ASI council and be asked to receive the award and deliver the Vainu Bappu Memorial lecture during the following ASI meeting.

This award was instituted in the year 1986, and the following is the list of awardees:

1986 Dr. Y. Fukui, Japan
1988 Dr. G.P. Efstathiou, UK & Dr. Srinivas R. Kulkarni, USA
1990 Dr. D.J. Saikia, India & Dr. D. Bhattacharya, India
1992 Dr. Pawan Kumar, USA
1994 Dr. Mathew Colless, Australia
1996 Dr. Sarbani Basu, USA
1998 Dr. Peter Martinez, South Africa
2000 Dr. Biswajit Paul, India & Dr. Alycia J. Weinberger, USA
2002 Dr. Brian P. Schmidt, Australia
2004 Dr. R. Srianand, IUCAA, Pune, India & Dr. Ray Jayawardhana, Univ. Toronto, Canada
2006 Dr. Banibrata Mukhopadhyay, IISC, Bangalore
2008 Dr. Nissim Kanekar, NCRA-TIFR, Pune, India & Dr. Niayesh Afshordi, Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics, Waterloo, Canada
2010 Dr. Marta Burgay,Osservatorio Astronomico di Cagliari, Italy & Dr. Parampreet Singh, Louisiana State University, USA
2012 Dr. Luca Cortese, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
2014 Dr. Nikku Madhusudan, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
2016 Dr. Varun Bhalerao, IIT, Bombay, India
2018 Not Awarded
2020 Dr. Shriharsh Tendulkar (TIFR and NCRA)
2022 Dr. Eve J. Lee (McGill University, Canada)