Prof. R. C. GuptaProfessor Radha Charan Gupta (1935-) was born in Jhansi. He earned his Ph.D. in the history of mathematics from Ranchi University in 1971 with the historian of Indian mathematics T.A. Sarasvati Amma. In 1991 he was elected a Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, India. In 2009 he was awarded the Kenneth O. May Prize alongside the British mathematician Ivor Grattan-Guinness. He is notably the first Indian to get this prize. He was an active member of the Astronomical Society of India and set up the endowment for lectures on history of astronomy.

R C Gupta Endowment Lecture was instituted by the society through an endowment from Prof. R. C. Gupta, a renowned researcher in the history of Mathematics and Astronomy around the year 2000. This endowment lecture must specifically be on the history of astronomy. The selection of speakers for this endowment lecture is done by the ASI Executive Council, who may utilize the suggestions made by the members of the Society. An honorarium of Rs. 10,000 is given to the speaker, and one such lecture can be organized in a period of two years.

Sl. No. Name of the Speaker Title (Click on the title for abstract summary) Year
2 Prof. Mayank Vahia Origin & Growth of Astronomy in India 2021
1 Prof. Biman Nath Who first discovered Helium in the Sun? 2013