Professor M. K. Vainu Bappu Gold Medal

The Vainu Bappu Gold medal was not awarded in 2018.

The Vainu Bappu Memorial Gold Medal 2020 was awarded to Dr. Shriharsh Tendulkar from TIFR and NCRA during ASI 2021 online meeting which was held during 18-23 Feb, 2021

The Vainu Bappu Gold medal award for 2016 was awarded to Dr. Varun Bhalerao during 37th annual meeting of ASI held at Christ (Deemed to be University), Bengaluru from 18 - 22 February 2019. Dr. Varun is presently working at IIT, Bombay.

The Vainu Bappu Memorial Gold Medal VB 2014 was awarded to Dr. Nikku Madhusudhan, University of Cambridge during ASI 2016 meeting at Srinagar, Kashmir which was held during 10-13 May, 2016

The Vainu Bappu Memorial Gold Medal VB 2012 was awarded to Dr. Luca Cortese, Swinburne University of Technology Centre for Astrophysics and Supercomputing during ASI 2017 meeting at B. M. Birla Auditorium, Jaipur during 6 - 10 March 2017

The Astronomical Society of India has instituted a fund in the memory of Professor M. K. Vainu Bappu with the objectives to promote knowledge of Astronomy and Astrophysics and honour the contributions made by young scientists, normally not beyond 35 years of age, from any part of the world, in the field of astronomy and astrophysics.

As a token of appreciation of the scientist's contribution to astronomy and astrophysics, the Astronomical Society of India awards the Professor M.K. Vainu Bappu Gold Medal and a citation. The award is given at intervals of two years. The recipient of the medal shall be required to deliver the Vainu Bappu memorial lecture at a meeting of the Society. Partial support for the recipient's travel to the venue of the meeting and full local hospitality during the period of the meeting will be provided by the Society. Young astronomers with exceptional achievements and promise are eligible for the award. The scientific achievements may be in any branch of astronomy, astrophysics and related fields. There are no restrictions on the nationality.

Nominations of the best suited young persons for this award are invited at intervals of every two years. Work done prior to 31 December of the prescribed year only will be considered. The nomination may be made on a plain paper in the following format:

  1. Name
  2. Affiliation
  3. Address for correspondence
  4. Date of birth
  5. Academic qualifications
  6. Major scientific achievements on which the nomination is based
  7. List of publications
  8. Reprints relevant to the recommendation
  9. Citations of relevance
  10. Any other information pertaining to the scientific excellence of the nominee
  11. Name and designation of the proposer along with the address for correspondence
  12. Signature of the proposer with date

The nominations may be made by heads of institutions, directors of observatories, heads of departments or senior scientists. Each nomination, including all the supporting documents, should be submitted in quadruplicate to the secretary of the society before the deadline, as announced from time to time.

This award was instituted in the year 1986, and the following is the list of awardees:

1986 Dr. Y. Fukui, Japan
1988 Dr. G.P. Efstathiou, UK & Dr. Srinivas R. Kulkarni, USA
1990 Dr. D.J. Saikia, India & Dr. D. Bhattacharya, India
1992 Dr. Pawan Kumar, USA
1994 Dr. Mathew Colless, Australia
1996 Dr. Sarbani Basu, USA
1998 Dr. Peter Martinez, South Africa
2000 Dr. Biswajit Paul, India & Dr. Alycia J. Weinberger, USA
2002 Dr. Brian P. Schmidt, Australia
2004 Dr. R. Srianand, IUCAA, Pune, India & Dr. Ray Jayawardhana, Univ. Toronto, Canada
2006 Dr. Banibrata Mukhopadhyay, IISC, Bangalore
2008 Dr. Nissim Kanekar, NCRA-TIFR, Pune, India & Dr. Niayesh Afshordi, Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics, Waterloo, Canada
2010 Dr. Marta Burgay,Osservatorio Astronomico di Cagliari, Italy & Dr. Parampreet Singh, Louisiana State University, USA
2012 Dr. Luca Cortese, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
2014 Dr. Nikku Madhusudan, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
2016 Dr. Varun Bhalerao, IIT, Bombay, India
2018 Not Awarded
2020 Dr. Shriharsh Tendulkar (TIFR and NCRA)