Executive Council

The Executive Council of the Astronomical Society of India

The Executive Council of the Astronomical Society of India is elected every three years. The members of the Executive Council for the current triennium (2019-2021) are:

G C Anupama is a Senior Professor at Indian Institute of Astrophysics. Her scientific interests includes Novae and related systems, Supernovae, Gamma-ray burst sources, EM follow-up of GW sources, Activity in galaxies and Development of Astronomical Facilities. She is currently the Dean at Indian Institute of Astrophysics and Group Head of India-TMT M1 Segments Group. Her other reponsibilities includes project incharge of GROWTH International Project which is a global network of telescopes for the study of transients.
Vice President
Shantanu Rastogi is a Professor of Physics having research interest in astrophysical molecules and the interstellar medium. He has been working towards understanding of mid-infrared emission features attributed to polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbon (PAH) molecules. He is also interested in remote sensing of trace gases in planetary atmospheres. He is recipient of the Alexander von Humboldt fellowship and is an associate of IUCAA, Pune.
Immediate Past President
Sheo Kumar Pandey is Former Vice Chancellor (2009-2018) & Professor at Pt. Ravishankar Shukla University, Raipur. His current research interests includes Multiwavelength surface photometry of early-type galaxies, Galaxies from Large Format Camera (LFC) survey fields, Teaching and Research in Astronomy using small telescopes.
Divya Oberoi is an astrophysicist with research interests in understanding solar and heliospheric physics, especially using new generation low radio frequency instruments which have recently become available. He is also interested in science outreach and pedagogy, and works at the National Centre for Radio Astrophysics, Pune.
C. S. Stalin is an associate professor at the Indian Institute of Astrophysics, Bangalore. His research interests are in the field of active galactic nuclei and time domain astronomy. For his research, he uses multi-wavelength data covering low energy radio to high energy gamma-rays. He is also involved in activities related to the Ultra-Violet Imaging Telescope (UVIT) on board AstroSat, India's first multi-wavelength astronomical satellite.
Poonam Chandra is an Associate Professor at the National Centre for Radio Astrophysics, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Pune. Her research interests are in Time Domain Astronomy with especial emphasis on supernovae, gamma ray bursts, electromagnetic counterparts of gravitational waves and magnetic massive stars.
Kuntal Misra is an astronomer at Aryabhatta Research Institute of observational sciencES (ARIES), Nainital. Her research focuses on cosmic transients of wide variety like Supernovae, Gamma Ray Bursts and electromagnetic counterparts of Gravitational Waves.
Joe Jacob is an Associate Professor in the Department of Physics of Newman College, Thodupuzha, affiliated to Mahatma Gandhi University, Kottayam, Kerala. He is a Visiting Associate of Inter University Center for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IUCAA), Pune from 2006 onward and is actively involved in Research in Astronomy and Science popularization & education. His research interests are in the fields of radio emissions from galaxies and galaxy clusters, galaxy super-clusters and microwave antennas.
Parameswaran Ajith is a physicist/astrophysicist at the International Center for Theoretical Sciences (ICTS), Bangalore. His research spans different aspects of gravitational-wave astronomy: modeling of gravitational-wave sources by combining analytical and numerical relativity, gravitational-wave data analysis, interpretation of gravitational-wave observations, tests of general relativity using gravitational wave observations, and astrophysics.

Past Executive Councils