Young Astronomer Award

The aim of this award, instituted by the Astronomical Society of India, is to motivate young Indian scientists to make outstanding research contributions in any aspect of astronomy/astrophysics and to publish the same in the Bulletin of the Astronomical Society of India.

The award consists of a cash prize of Rs.10,000/- and a scroll/citation of honour which mentions the name/s of the author/s and the title of the winning research article, duly signed by the current President and the Secretary of the Society. The award is given once in two years, and at the time of each such `year of award' papers published in the Bulletin of ASI during the two previous calendar years and satisfying necessary conditions mentioned below are considered for the award. For example, the papers published during the calendar years 1983 and 1984 were considered for the first `year of award' which was the year 1985.

Only those research articles may be considered for the award, whose first author is an Indian National and whose age does not exceed 35 years on the first day of the period for which the award is being made. In case the article is written by more than one author, the prize money will be divided equally among all those authors who are eligible in the sense defined above.

The award is made on the basis of selection by a panel of three referees duly constituted by the Executive Council of ASI, soon after the publication of the last issue for the period of the Bulletin of ASI for which the award is made.

The Young Astronomer for the year 2013 :

Formation rates of dark matter haloes (December 2011 issue)
Sourav Mitra, Girish Kulkarni, J. S. Bagla and Jaswant K. Yadav

The first two authors will share the award.