New Discovery Award

In order to recognise and appreciate the achievements of the Indian astronomers, the society has instituted an award for the discoveries of comets, asteroids, novae, supernovae and any other astrophysical phenomena. This award consists of a cash prize of Rs.10000/-, a medal and a citation. It is called as the New Discovery Award.

The prerequisite for this award is that the discovery should have been made by an Indian national in India. The proof and authenticity of the discovery should be provided by the one who stakes claim for the award. There is no age restriction for this award.

The nominations for this award may be made by heads of institutions, directors of observatories, heads of departments or senior scientists. Each nomination, including all the supporting documents, should be submitted in quadruplicate to the secretary of the society as and when the discovery is made.

The new Discovery award for the year 2020 has been Awarded to Dr. Kanak Saha (IUCAA) and Team their work on "the detection of Lyman continuum emission from a z = 1.42 galaxy using AstroSat".

The new Discovery award for the year 2018 has been Awarded to Prof. Joydeep Bagchi and team for the discovery of “Saraswati Supercluster”.