Congratulations to Dr. Saurabh Singh, the recipient of the Young Astronomer Award for the Best Publication for the year 2023.

1. About the award

The aim of this award, instituted by the Astronomical Society of India, is to motivate young Indian scientists to make outstanding research contributions in any aspect of astronomy/astrophysics and to publish the results in any refereed journal of astronomy and astrophysics. The award, to be given annually, consists of a cash prize of Rs.10,000/- and a citation of honour which mentions the name/s of the author/s and the title of the winning research article, duly signed by the current President and the Secretary of the Society.

The award when initially instituted was given to the paper published in Bulletin of the Astronomical Society of India (BASI), subsequent the merger of Bulletin with Journal of Astrophysics and Astronomy (JAA), the ASI general body in its meeting held in 2021 approved considering publications in any refereed astronomy / astrophysics journal.

2. Nomination Criteria

The nominees will be young researchers who have made outstanding contributions in the area of astronomy and astrophysics primarily using Indian facilities. The contribution should be published in any refereed journal. The nominee should have an Indian affiliation for the bulk of the work done.  Only those research articles may be considered for the award, whose first author is an Indian National and whose age does not exceed 35 years.  At the time of each such ‘year of award’ papers published/accepted for publication (with proof) in any refereed journal during the two previous calendar years and satisfying necessary conditions mentioned below are considered for the award. For example, the papers published/accepted during the calendar years 2022 and 2023 are to be considered for the year of award 2023. In case the article is written by more than one author, the prize money will be divided equally among all those authors who are eligible in the sense defined above. Renominations for the same paper will not be considered.

3. Application

All nominations for the award  must  be received by the ASI, by the deadline as indicated on the website of the ASI. Nominations must be submitted via the online interface on the ASI website. Nominations can be made by the heads of the institutions and other eminent members of the ASI.

For the award year 2023, the nominations must be received by 27th Nov 2023 (Extended deadline). Publications in the years 2022 and 2023 will only be considered. The nominee should be 35 years of age or less as on 31 Dec 2023. The date of birth of the nominee should be on or after 1st Jan 1988.

  1. Nominations must include the following material:
  2. Name of Nominee
  3. Details of Nominee
    1. Affiliation
    2. Address for correspondence
    3. Date of birth
    4. Email id
    5. Mobile number
  4. Academic qualifications
  5. Nomination letter with signature and date
  6. Major scientific result of the publication on which the nomination is based
  7. Reprint relevant to the recommendation (include hyperlinks only)
  8. Citations of relevance (if any)
  9. Details of Proposer
    1. Name
    2. Designation and Affiliation
    3. Address
    4. Email ID
    5. Phone number

Online form is closed.

4. Selection Process

A three member Award Selection Committee (ASC) is constituted by the ASI ensuring technical and gender representation. Each member of the ASC receives all nominations along with the supporting material. The ASC will communicate the result of its deliberations to the ASI council within three months following the submission deadline.

5.Announcement of the Award

The successful nominee will be informed of the decision of the ASI council and be asked to receive the award during the following ASI meeting.


The list of past awardees is as follows:

Year Awardee Awarded for
2023 Saurabh Singh, Authors and Co-Authors - Saurabh Singh, Jishnu Nambissan T., Ravi Subrahmanyan, N. Udaya Shankar, B. S. Girish, A. Raghunathan, R. Somashekar, K. S. Srivani & Mayuri Sathyanarayana Rao On the detection of a cosmic dawn signal in the radio background
2022 Chirag Chawla, Authors and Co-Authors - Chirag Chawla, Sourav Chatterjee, Katelyn Breivik, Chaithanya Krishna Moorthy, Jeff J. Andrews and Robyn E. Sanderson Gaia May Detect Hundreds of Well-characterized Stellar Black Holes
2022 Harsh Kumar (Honorable Mention), Authors and Co-Authors - Kumar, Harsh ; Bhalerao, Varun ; Anupama, G. C. ; Barway, Sudhanshu ; Basu, Judhajeet ; Deshmukh, Kunal ; De, Kishalay ; Dutta, Anirban ; Fremling, Christoffer ; Iyer, Hrishikesh ; Jassani, Adeem ; Joharle, Simran ; Karambelkar, Viraj ; Khandagale, Maitreya ; Krishna, K. Adithya ; Kulkarni, Sumeet ; Mate, Sujay ; Patil, Atharva ; Phanindra, DVS ; Samantaray, Subham ; Sharma, Kritti ; Sharma, Yashvi ; Shenoy, Vedant ; Singh, Avinash ; Srivastava, Shubham ; Swain, Vishwajeet ; Waratkar, Gaurav ; Angchuk, Dorje ; Dorjay, Padma ; Dorjai, Tsewang ; Gyalson, Tsewang ; Jorphail, Sonam ; Mahay, Tashi Thsering ; Norbu, Rigzin ; Sharma, Tarun Kumar ; Stanzin, Jigmet ; Stanzin, Tsewang search by orcid ; Stanzin, Urgain India's First Robotic Eye for Time-domain Astrophysics: The GROWTH-India Telescope
2022 Anshuman Borgohain (Honorable Mention), Authors and Co-Authors - Anshuman Borgohain, Kanak Saha, Bruce Elmegreen, Rupjyoti Gogoi, Francoise Combes & Shyam N. Tandon Extended far-ultraviolet emission in distant dwarf galaxies
2013 Sourav Mitra, Girish Kulkarni, J. S. Bagla and Jaswant K. Yadav Formation rates of dark matter haloes (December 2011 issue)
2011 B. Ravindra for the paper Ravindra, B. and Howard, Timothy A. Comparison of energies between eruptive phenomena and magnetic field in AR 10930 that appeared in the volume 38 of the bulletin
2009 K. Nagaraju with paper: K. Nagaraju, K. B. Ramesh, K. Sankarasubramanian and K. E. Rangarajan An efficient modulation scheme for dual beam polarimetry, BASI, 35, 307 (2007)
2007 Sabyasachi Pal, Sandip K. Chakrabarti, Alex Kraus and Samir Mandal. This award is shared by Sabyasachi Pal (Centre for Space Physics, Kolkata) and Samir Mandal (Centre for Space Physics, Kolkata); first author and co-author of the paper who are below the age of 35 years. Broadband radio spectrum of SS433, Bull. Astron. Soc. India, Vol 34, 1-9 (2006)
2003 and 2004 S.B. Pandey, D.K. Sahu, L. Resmi, R. Sagar, G.C. Anupama, D. Bhattacharya, V. Mohan, T.P. Prabhu, B.C. Bhatt, J.C. Pandey, Padmaker Parihar and A.J. Castr-Tirado. This award is shared by S.B. Pandey (ARIES, Nainital), L. Resmi (RRI, Bangalore) and J.C. Pandey (ARIES, Nainital); Optical Observations of the Bright Long Duration Peculiar GRB 021004 Afterglow, Bull. Astron. Soc. India, Vol 31, 19-36 (2003)