The Executive Council of the Astronomical Society of India

The Executive Council of the Astronomical Society of India is elected every three years. The members of the Executive Council for the current triennium (2022-2025) are:

Dipankar Banerjee is a Professor and currently the Director at Aryabhatta Research Institute of Observational Sciences (ARIES). His scientific interests include Solar magnetohydrodynamics (MHD)- theoretical study of MHD wave propagation in stratied atmospheres. Observations of Chromospheric and Coronal oscillations, density and temperature diagnostic in solar atmosphere.
Vice President
Eswar Reddy is a senior Professor and Dean of the Faculty of sciences at the Indian Institute of Astrophysics, Bengaluru. His research interests include Observational stellar spectroscopy and chemical tagging of stars to understand stellar and Galactic chemical evolution. He is also the programme director of the India TMT centre which manages India's participation in the Thirty-Meter Telescope international observatory (TIO) project.
Immediate Past President
G C Anupama is retired Senior Professor and Dean from Indian Institute of Astrophysics. Her scientific interests includes Novae and related systems, Supernovae, Gamma-ray burst sources, EM follow-up of GW sources, Activity in galaxies and Development of Astronomical Facilities. She is the Group Head of India-TMT M1 Segments Group. She was also project in-charge of GROWTH International Project which is a global network of telescopes for the study of transients.
Sarita Vig is a Professor at the Indian Institute of Space science and Technology (IIST), Thiruvananthapuram. Her research interests include early phases in massive star formation, Galactic clusters, Interstellar medium, Galactic structure, and laboratory experiments with polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs). She teaches astrophysics to students pursuing their Bachelors and Masters degrees at IIST. She is also interested in astronomy outreach activities and loves to talk to young students about the cosmos.
Nirupam Roy is an Assistant Professor at the Department of Physics, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore. His research interests include study of interstellar medium and star formation in MIlky Way and nearby galaxies, compact object and accretion physics, and observational cosmology. He is currently the Convener of the Joint Astronomy Programme (JAP), common research training and graduate programme of IIA, IISc, ISRO and RRI. He is also actively involved in the SKA India consortium.
Ruta Kale is an astrophysicist working at the National Centre for Radio Astrophysics of the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Pune. Her research interests are in studying non-thermal phenomena in clusters of galaxies, evolution of radio galaxies and radio astronomy techniques.
Harvinder Kaur Jassal is a faculty member in Indian Institute of Science Education and Research Mohali. Her research interest is to study theoretical and observational aspects of dark energy. She is also working on model independent methods of determining cosmological parameters. She has been a member of the Public outreach committee and the working group for gender equality of the Astronomical Society of India.
Rupjyoti Gogoi is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Physics, Tezpur University, Assam. She is Visiting Associate of Inter-University Center for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IUCAA), Pune since 2013. She is Coordinator of IUCAA Centre for Astronomy Research & Development (ICARD) since 2019. She is actively involved in organizing different Astronomy activities in North East India. One of her current research interest is to estimate various physical properties of the interstellar dust grains at different wavebands using observational data. She also has a research group working on multiwavelength study of Active Galactic Nuclei and X-ray sources.
Durgesh Tripathi is a Professor at the Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IUCAA), Pune. His research spans various aspects of the dynamics of magnetically coupled solar atmosphere.

Past Executive Councils