The following awards were announced during the concluding session of the ASI 2022 meeting on 29th March 2022, the details are as follows - 

K D Abhyankar Best Thesis Presentation Award

This award has been instituted by the society to encourage the participation of young astronomers who have completed their theses during the last two years preceding a scientific meeting of the ASI

The best thesis presentation prize was shared between

1) Dr. Surajit Mondal
Title of the thesis: Studying the extremes of solar activity using high dynamic range low-frequency solar images (NCRA-TIFR)
Supervisor: Prof Divya Oberoi

2) Dr. Prasanna Deshmukh
Title of the thesis: Modelling, Simulation, and Implementation of Primary
Mirror Control System For The Prototype Segmented Mirror Telescope (IIA)
Supervisor: Prof Padmakar Parihar


The best thesis presentation honorable mentions was presented to
1) Dr. Barnali Das
Title of the thesis: Coherent radio emission from hot magnetic stars
Supervisor: Prof Poonam Chandra and
2) Dr. Archita Rai
Title of the thesis: Infrared Astronomical Instrumentation & Polarisation Studies (PRL)

Supervisor: Prof Shashikiran Ganesh


ASI Best Poster Awards in various categories

Stars, ISM, and the Galaxy

The ASI best poster award is shared by two posters:
1) Arun Roy, Blesson Mathew, et al (ASI2022_71) (CHRIST, Deemed to be University)
The poster on “Discovery of fullerenes in the circumstellar medium of Herbig Ae/Be stars”

2) Bharti Arora (ASI2022_473) (ARIES Nainital)
The poster on “Episodic dust formation in the colliding wind binary WR 125”

Extragalactic Astronomy

Sioree Ansar, et (ASI2022_297) (IIA Bangalore)
The poster on “Bar Formation and Destruction in the FIRE2 Simulations

Sun and the Solar System
The ASI best poster award is shared by two posters:

1) Devojyoti Kansabanik, Divya Oberoi, and Soham Dey (ASI2022_40) (NCRA-TIFR, Pune)
The poster on “Measuring Coronal Magnetic Field using high fidelity low-frequency Spectro polarimetric radio imaging with SKA precursor”

2) Sahel Day and Piyali Chatterjee (ASI2022_315) (IIA & IISc)
The poster on “A new mechanism of spinning Solar Spicules”


General Relativity and Cosmology
The ASI best poster award is shared by two posters:

1) Barun Maity and Tirthankar Roy Choudhury (NCRA-TIFR, Pune)
The poster on “Efficient Modelling of Cosmic Reionization using SCRIPT” (ASI2022_145)

2) Koustav Chandra (ASI2022_443) (IIT Bombay)
The poster on “Are the sources of GW190521 and ZTF19abanrhr the same?”

Instrumentation and Techniques

Kshitij Bane , et al (ASI2022_91) (IIA)
The poster on “A new facility for pulsar observations at low radio frequencies


Best Poster Award from the Indian Academy of Sciences (JAA Poster Awards)

Two Best Poster Awards from the Indian Academy of Sciences (JAA poster swards)

The JAA best poster awards
1)  Harsh Kumar (ASI2022_209) IIT Bombay
The poster on GROWTH India Telescope: A Robotic Eye for Time Domain Astronomy”

2) Akriti Sinha (ASI2022_572) IIT Indore
The poster on “Studying star formation with low-frequency uGMRT observations”


ASI awards for the year 2021 were announced during the Special awards session on 26th March 2022

ASI Zubin Kembhavi Award (for instrumentation) for the year 2021 was presented to "Team Astrosat"

ASI Justice Oak Award for Outstanding Thesis in Astronomy was presented to Dr. Swagat Saurav Mishra, who performed his PhD thesis research at the Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics, is being awarded the Astronomical Society of India’s Justice Oak Award for the best thesis of 2022 for his outstanding and varied contributions to cosmology ranging from the early history of the Universe to dark energy.

The ASI Justice Oak Award for Outstanding Thesis in Astronomy Honorable Mention was presented to:
1) Dr. Anshu Kumari, who performed her Ph.D. thesis research at the Indian Institute of Astrophysics, is being acknowledged for her unique contributions to the development of a solar radio-spectropolarimeter and utilizing this instrument to constrain the elusive solar coronal magnetic fields associated with solar radio bursts.

2) Dr. Surajit Mondal, who performed his Ph.D. thesis research at the National Centre for Radio Astronomy, is being acknowledged for his pioneering contributions to the development of a highly versatile interferometric solar imaging pipeline, and for the intelligent use of radio observations to constrain solar energetic phenomena from small to large scales.